“I don’t care.”

When I hear someone say “I don’t care” regarding a decision in a meeting, it raises the hair on the back of my neck.  It causes the following things come to mind:

  • I have no vested interest in the outcome one way or the other.
  • I don’t value whatever resources are involved in the decision being made.
  • I would rather be doing other things with my time.
  • Your suffering (or anyone else’s suffering) doesn’t matter to me.
  • I’m fine with making short-term gains in exchange for long-term pains because I’m not concerned about the long-term impact of this decision.

 

There’s often a better, more specific way of getting your point across:

  • “I’m not sure this decision has any impact on me, so I’m fine either way.”
  • “You choose whichever option you think is best.”
  • “I’m not sure I could recommend one option or the other… they both seem [good/bad].”
  • “Do what you need to do in order to make [the goal] happen.  I’ll support you in doing this.”
  • “Let’s go with the best long-term option.”
Leave a Reply

