Where does your time go?

For Christmas, my wife got me this book:

soviet_ghosts

It’s a book of photography of abandoned buildings from the Soviet era.  The one thought that keeps going through my mind is how many man hours were spent building such amazing structures, only to have them decay into nothing but waste.

But then I keep remembering that I’m a programmer, and how little of my code will likely still be in production in 10 years.  It’s essentially the same thing.  All my work will eventually be tossed out, abandoned, and left to rot.

It’s a bit of a strange feeling.  But then again – the most important things in life aren’t things.  Time spent on ‘things’ can be good, but time spent with people is worth so much better.

Leave a Reply

