Thesis: Voxel Octree Intersection Based 3D Scanning

I figured I might as well put this out there. It’s a copy of my master’s thesis, entitled Voxel Octree Intersection Based 3D Scanning

Voxel Octree Intersection Based 3D Scanning.

The idea behind it was to use low-cost hardware to make a 3D scanner that would generate watertight 3D meshes. The technique I developed was less than ideal, but it did work. If I could have done it over again, I would have used a homemade laser scanner and a different technique.

The technique creates an octree, and treats individual regions of 3D space as being either empty or solid. It gathers 3D data from a Kinect sensor, creates a set of triangles from that data, and intersects it into the tree. When all the data has been gathered, a process then runs the marching tetrahedrons algorithm on the tree data to generate a final 3D mesh. It certainly isn’t efficient, but it worked well enough to generate some 3D scans like this:

FinalPrints_Small

The dragon is missing the top of its head, as the 3D printer ran out of filament during printing.

Really though, I see this more about learning to learn than learning specifics. It’s amazing how many other ideas came out of doing my master’s. I’m also a lot more interested in the underlying techniques of how things work and how to make them more efficient, rather than just coding. While doing my master’s, I met a ton of great people and had some great experiences – including going to an academic conference abroad, creating a prototype of a system called Pylons, and winning a business plan competition.

Most importantly, though, doing a master’s brought me back to Lethbridge where I met my then-future/now current wife. The circumstances which it took to get me back to Lethbridge were interesting, but I’m so very glad that things have worked out the way they have.

Leave a Reply

