Troubles deploying to Windows Phone 8 device…

So I got myself a Windows Phone 8 device, and have been playing around with a bit of development on it.  Things were working fine, and I was able to run the app on the device without any sort of issues.  Out of the blue, when trying to deploy the app once more to test another feature, I got the following error message:

The application could not be launched for debugging. Ensure that the target device screen is unlocked and that the application is installed.

So, what was causing this?  I have no idea.  The device was unlocked and ready to receive the deployment.  I hadn’t messed with any of the language settings on the phone or computer/SDK that was doing the deployment.  (Apparently having different language settings between the SDK and the device that the app is being deployed to can cause an error message like this.  I really need to write a proper post on why error messages should be detailed).  The app had previously been deployed to the phone without any issues.

As a bit of a crap-shoot, I tried uninstalling the app from the phone, then deploying again.  Low and behold, it worked!  I have no idea why it worked, but it did.  Hopefully if anyone else comes across this issue, they won’t have to struggle for too long before trying this.

Leave a Reply

