Two Minor (and One Major) Annoyances with Windows Phone 7.8

I’ve been using Windows Phone 7.8 on my LG Optimus 7 ever since I was able to get the update.  It’s been decent, but there are two things that annoy me about it:

 

  • Under the Settings, settings are not listed alphabetically.  It seems to be a pretty much random order.  It’s not even that most frequently used settings are listed first, as the very first one listed is “ringtones + sounds”.  It really seems like the ideal solution would be to have either pinned items at the top, then all others listed alphabetically, or to just have all the settings listed alphabetically.  The only issue with doing the latter is that the “Wi-Fi” setting (which is frequently used) would then be near the bottom of the list and require an extra swipe or two to get to.  
  • When sending replies to a text message, it seems almost completely random whether or not the first letter of a new message is capitalized or not.  I’ve been using the phone for nearly 2.5 years, and I still have yet to figure out the logic of when it thinks the first letter in a new text should be capitalized.  It seems completely random.  It seems like the best thing to do here would be to always capitalize the first letter of a new text message.

And now for the major annoyance:

  • Tabs in IE are severely broken sine the 7.8 update.  By severely broken, I mean they no longer work.  When I go to view the tabs in IE, all I get is a black screen with a menu at the bottom.  Clicking the new tab icon does absolutely nothing.  It makes browsing multiple pages impossible.

That being said, I do plan on upgrading to a new Windows Phone 8 device in the reasonably near future.  It’ll be interesting to see what they’ve fixed (if anything).  It’s nice to hear about the GDR3 update, and that they plan on supporting Windows Phone 8 for at least a few more years.  

 

Now if only they’d let me edit what’s in my autocorrect dictionary like I could on Windows Mobile 6,5…

Leave a Reply

