Windows 8 Power Button App

I figured I’d better get with the times and actually try out Windows 8. Luckily, I’ve got a netbook that hasn’t been doing too much lately, so I threw in an Intel 60 GB SSD into it, and put Windows 8 on it. While there are some improvements to it over Windows 7, there’s a few things that I definitely don’t like about it. The biggest of these is probably how buried the power button/sleep button is. Let’s compare Windows 7 and 8 in this regard, how how many clicks it takes to put a PC to sleep:

Windows 7

  1. Click the start button
  2. Click the over arrow (or wait for the menu to appear)
  3. Click Sleep

Windows 8

  1. Move mouse to the upper or lower right corner
  2. Move down to the Settings button and click it
  3. Click the Power button
  4. Click Sleep

Now if Microsoft had been paying attention, they’d notice that there’s an extra step in there – and if they’d have taken a lesson from Google on saving button clicks, they would have made it way less buried. Seriously. I think I had to Google how to put my own PC to sleep. This might work fine for low power touch devices where you can just hit a button to put the machine to sleep, but for something a bit bigger like a PC, it makes no sense. This annoyed me enough that I wanted to write a sleep button app that was more accessible. I wanted to write this as an app-formerly-known-as-Metro-style-app, but I couldn’t. Because of the sandboxed nature of Windows-8-style-formerly-known-as-Metro-apps, it’s completely impossible. The best I could do is write a WPF app that looks sort of like a metro-style app.

Anyway, since my hopes and dreams of making a power button app on the Windows App Store were dashed, I figured the best I could do is give away the app for free so that others don’t have to suffer. So without further ado, you can download the app here:

Power Button App
Power Button App with source (C#)

PowerButton App

Download it, unzip it, and put it some place where you won’t delete it. Want to shut down/restart/sleep your machine without having to go through 30 levels of menus?

  1. Press the Windows key
  2. Start typing “PowerButton”
  3. Hit enter.
  4. Make your selection.

Not so bad, now is it?

Leave a Reply

