M-Day: 41

I haven’t written anything in a while, and it’s been nagging at me.  On my walks home from school I think about what I should be writing about, only to get home and decide to eat dinner instead.

Things are going very well!  I must say, doing a Master’s is a heck of a lot different than doing an undergrad degree.  There’s so much more freedom – at least when you get to research things that you are interested in!  (I should hope at this point that if you are doing a Master’s, you’d be interested in what you are doing!).

Lately I’ve been playing around with a Microsoft Kinect, and trying to do some rudimentary finger tracking with it.  It’s not directly related to my thesis, but it has been good practice, and quite fun to play with.  I’ve also been doing a ton of reading about 3D printing, homemade CNC machines, and all sorts of interesting manufacturing techniques.  There’s some absolutely wild stuff out there that is being done both in industry and it people’s shops.  20 years ago the idea of a homemade CNC machine was probably out of the question unless you had an electrical engineering degree.  Nowadays almost anyone can pick up a kit, piece one together, and start making crazy stuff with it.  It’s the same with 3D printing – the costs have come down incredibly.  The economic implications are quite interesting, and it will provide some new market opportunities for those who are going to get in at ground zero.  Of course, like any other emerging market, it’s difficult to predict what the demand is and where the money is.

I’ve also been toying around a little bit with some mapping services and a location based events app.  I think the idea has a lot of merit, and it’s only a matter of time before someone does something cool with it.

On a completely unrelated note – what’s up with Lethbridge and fires?  In the space of a month there was one huge grass fire that threatened to burn half the town down, and another car fire in the drive-through of a local Taco Bell.  

 

ImageGrass fire smoke.  By the time I got home, I had to wash my face because of the soot in the air.

Leave a Reply

