Bookends

I find it interesting in life when you see an obvious case of bookends. I’m not referring to the ones at the end of a row of books on a shelf – I’m talking about more of the metaphorical ones.

Several years ago I moved to a distant city. I was living in a place that wasn’t so great, and so I had arranged to move in to a new place with a friend (and a friend of his). The way it worked out, I was able to book the day off (which also happened to be my birthday), got the keys to the new place and moved my stuff in. As we hadn’t decided who would get which room, I simply dumped my belongings in the middle of the living room floor. (It’s not so bad when everything you own can fit in two trips of a Honda Civic). So for my first night in the new place I found myself sleeping on the living room floor, without a mattress.

Fast forward three and a half years or so: Again, I found myself sleeping on that same floor, again without a mattress. A lot had changed during that time, but oddly enough I found myself in that same position. This time I was in the process of moving out, so most of my furniture (including my bed) had been moved out. I had just a few belongings, all left in the middle of the living room floor, waiting to be backed into my car. I just found it kind of interesting how sometimes life is like that – there’s an obvious start and an obvious end to phases in life. Sometimes we come full circle and end off at where we started – even if it means sleeping on the living room floor.

Leave a Reply

