Update…

Ah, time for another wonderful update.

So my roommate downloaded the Just Cause 2 demo for Xbox 360. I had heard of the first one, but hadn’t really paid any attention to it. The demo of Just Cause 2 definitely caught my eye though. I am quite impressed with the draw distance and destructibility of the environment. I’d say it’s pretty much on-par with Crysis in that respect. The ability to shoot down trees, shoot tires off vehicles, and blow certain buildings up is pretty much the same. Seeing a far off mountain and actually being able to drive up it is pretty cool. I’d really be interested in hearing a postmortem or some stories of the development of it.

On a different note, I think I’m going to pick up an Acer EasyStore Windows Home Server, back my machine up, and switch over to Windows 7. My memory card reader on my Dell XPS 435 has stopped working, and I can’t figure out whether it is a software problem or a hardware problem. There was apparently and issue with Windows Vista and some memory card readers that stopped working after hibernating. I can’t even get mine to show in Device Manager or anything of the sort, so I’m not quite sure what the problem is. Of course the Dell online support wasn’t able help me figure out what the problem was, so I figured I’d go ahead with the upgrade to see if that fixes it. If that doesn’t work, I’ll crack the case open to make sure nothing has come disconnected, and then as a last resort call a foreign country Dell Tech Support. Last time I had to deal with them it took me nearly an hour to convince them that my DVD drive was dead (which it was).

I’m also interested in trying out TortoiseHG for source control on my home machine. After dealing with SourceGear’s Vault at work, I’m definitely looking for something different at home. If I pick up the Windows Home Server I’ll keep a central repository on it, as well as all my regular backups.

Leave a Reply

