Pre-weekend Update

I’m currently listening to the World of Goo soundtrack. I must say that I’m impressed. I haven’t played any of the Goo games (Tower of Goo, World of Goo, The Last of the Goo Balls) but listening to the soundtrack definitely makes me want to do so. Go grab the soundtrack and have a listen.

I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but Gamasutra has an article posted about The 13 Basic Principles of Gameplay Design. It looks like it could be an interesting read. That also reminds me that I should get around to finishing my own article about foundations of gameplay.

I’m also in the process of collecting and posting all my XNA and game development related links. I’ll post a link here once it’s up.

4 comments

  1. Peter

    You mentioned this bit regarding Hiring 30 people to work on Mass Effect 2:

    “I wonder why the decision to do it in Montreal instead of Edmonton”

    here’s your answer:

    The Québec government gives video game publishers $37,000/employee per year.

    So if Bioware/EA needs to hire 30 new employees on a project, it makes economic sense for them to do it in Montréal where the gaming industry is heavily subsidized.

  2. Joel

    Ah, very interesting! I totally wasn’t aware of that. I suppose that would also explain why Ubisoft has a large office out that way.

  3. Peter

    Same goes for Eidos which is developing Deus Ex 3 out of it’s Montreal Studio while they closed off their development arm in Manchester.

    That’s why all the major and medium sized studios set-up shop in Québec.

    They pick Montréal (as opposed to other locations in the province) because the city is the most bilingual. This allows employees, who come from other parts of the world and who don’t speak french, the best chance to succeed and adapt to the region.

Leave a Reply

