Mid-Week Update

“Boredom is good. It forces people to reevaluate their lives and make changes, get creative about how they spend their time. Stop and think. Take a deep breath. Figure out where you want to go with your life next and get started.” – Lessbread, GameDev.net

Interesting quote, no? I thought so.

I’ve also been thinking about the story of the two pottery classes. One class was given an entire semester to create a single piece of pottery. The other class was required to produce one piece of pottery per week. At the end of the semester the class who had to create a new piece on a weekly basis produced a final better product.

Ideally, relating this to game development, I’d be producing a new game each week (or two). Rather than doing that, I think I’m going to try something a bit different – having a publicly released build every week. It should be interesting to see how this goes. This week’s public build might not happen, as I’ve got a jam-packed week (starting tonight, actually!). Besides, at this point I don’t really have much to show, other than a window with some text in it. I’m still in the process of re-writing a bunch of underlying framework stuff, and having put in only 10 minutes or so a night, I haven’t made a ton of progress.

Leave a Reply

