YARU – Yet Another Random Update

Alrighty, its been way too long since I have done a half decent update. Not to say that this will be a half decent update, but whatever. Things have been quite busy. I’m not entirely sure why things have been so busy, but they have been. That, and after putting in a full day at the office, I don’t generally feel like working on any programming projects at home.

On that note, I am still split between what I want to do for my next project. I’m still debating between doing a Trespasser remake (or at least a remake of the demo) or whether to go with something different. I’ve been toying around with a few ideas of doing a story driven first person shooter (but going very light on the shooter part). I think that games can be a really powerful medium – more so than movies because it puts the player in control. I’d like to see just how far it is possible to go with using a game as a source of motivating to motivate the player to become a better person in real life.

Either way, no matter what I go with I’m going to need some art assets. I’m pretty horrible at texturing, but I do enjoy 3D modelling with Maya. Thing is, Maya’s price tag – $2000. To go along with Maya, I could probably use a new computer setup (I’m working on a Pentium 4 3.4 Ghz, 3 gigs of ram (just upgraded that the other week!), and a Geforce 7600 GS). Throw in a pair of 24″ monitors in addition to the new rig, and it could come out to another $2000. I certainly don’t want to lay out $4k when I don’t have a set plan of what I’d like to create.

On a more technical note, I’ve had a chance to play around with Lidgren – a C# networking library. It does make it pretty simple to get things from one client to another. This gave me the idea of doing a co-op based Trespasser remake. I think the idea definitely has a lot of potential, but a friend of mine did remind me that physics programming over a network can get really really hairy really quick. I’m also learning more about WCF (Windows Communication Foundation). It’s definitely a lot more heavy-duty, and not exactly suited to games, and has given me a much bigger appreciation for any sort of networking in a business app (like the one I work on at work).

So yeah, that’s about all for now. I still need to try packaging up my last version of the stuff I was working on (animated menus and whatnot) now that XNA 3.0 has built in support for click-once deployment.

Leave a Reply

