Yay, Nay, and Other Stuff.

Previously at work we had some major issues trying to get things working on Vista x64. We still haven’t gotten everything to work perfectly, but at least things are up and running now.

After watching a few videos (developer videos, none the less) of Fallout 3, I am inclined to say that I am not going to play the game. I’m not sure what it is, but it seems a lot of games as of late (Fallout 3, Gears of War, Rainbow Six: Vegas) have characters dropping the F-bomb every second sentence. I don’t particularly care if this is a reflection of what people see in society today, I don’t think its necessary, and don’t like it. For that, and a few other reasons I don’t think I will be playing Fallout 3. Go ahead and call me an old man, or a stick in the mud. I think by including such language, a few people such as myself will be turned away from buying the game. I think if they wouldn’t have put it in the game, no one would really notice it missing. Am I wrong?

I’m still split on what to do for the game I’d like to make. I’ve got a few ideas but I really haven’t been able to nail down a specific idea that I want to implement. I’m still split between doing something involving futuristic space or doing a Trespasser remake. I think both could be pretty cool if done well.

2 comments

  1. Jon Furner

    I have to agree with your feelings on the Fallout trailers. I left knowing that I wouldn’t purchase it. Same thing for Rainbow Six: Vegas after turning off the horribly explicit demo, which was disappointing as I still own the first Rainbow Six and have been a fan for many years.

    As for Gears of War, I received it as a gift before I knew anything of its content and was pleasantly surprised to find that it has an option to turn off graphic content and language. The same is true of GoW 2. I’m not sure if Fallout or Rainbow Six ever did or ever will have a similar feature. Both turned me off before I had a chance to check. Strangely, Gears seemed less “adult” and more mature even before I knew of its censoring support.

    I haven’t seen a game with “content blocking” in the options menu since old-school shooters like Rise of the Triad and Duke Nukem 3D. It seems slapping an M on the box is enough for some companies to think they’re covered. Not so with Epic, possibly because of there long history of developing PC shooters, or possibly with some pull by Microsoft as Gears is a first party title and MS wants to reach as large an audience as possible.

    The feature didn’t work as well as I would like, with cut-scenes seemingly uncensored in the first Gears and only partially censored in the second, allowing some s-words through, but credit should at least be given for consistent effort, even if QC is lacking at this point. I would like to see more games bring this feature back.

    Also, do a futuristic Trespasser remake in space. It worked for Dino Crisis 3…

  2. Joel

    Wow, I didn’t realize that Gears of War had a graphic content option. I think my opinion of it just went up a few notches. I still won’t buy it, but at least I can give credit to Cliffy B and his crew for recognizing that perhaps not all people like bad language.

Leave a Reply

