Quick Update…

I’ve queued up a bunch of quotes for the next couple days. At least that way I will look productive while I’m busy wasting time or playing video games or somesuch.

I haven’t really done any work on my game programming projects. I really should still be in the design stage at this point, and get everything hammered out on how I’d like it to be. Instead I started by canabalizing the XNA Game State Management sample. I’m not 100% clear on how a few parts of it work, so I think I’m probably going to end up going witha slightly different version of it (I’ll find a link and post it later).

My current idea is to go for a very story driven, dialog heavy game. Of course this wouldn’t be much fun, as there really isn’t any core game mechanic to it (unless you like running around and reading bits of text in coversations with NPCs). This morning I had the idea to do something a bit more like Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, but instead of relying on an RPG mechanic (i.e.: the game pauses when you encounter an enemy, and hits don’t directly correlate, but are instead statistical or randomly driven) I’d like to do something a bit different. I really want to nail it down before I get too far into things, and discover that the game is boring as heck or absolutely horrible to play.

That also brings up the issue of content creation. In order to get some decent 3D models, test levels, etc. I’d really like to get my hands on a commercial version of Maya (preferrably 8.5 or newer). So, if you have a spare (legit) copy and are willing to sell it, by all means, let me know. The $2k sticker price for a new version is a bit steep for me at the moment.

On a completely different note (no pun intended), the battery indicator on my Archos 404 music player seems to be lying to me. It had 1 bar this morning (out of a usual 4 or 5), and has been playing music for a good 2 hours. Normally I’m lucky to get 6 hours on a full charge.

Leave a Reply

