Crysis: I’m Impressed

So a while ago I tried out the Crysis Demo. I thought it was somewhat impressive, as it ran quite smoothly on my old-ish system (A P4 3.4 Ghz, 1 GB ram, Geforce 7600 GS).

Just recently I stumbled across several videos on youtube where people have been messing with the physics and doing some pretty wild stuff. Here’s an example:

link

(For the extra lazy, here it is, embedded:)

It gets better towards the end.

Here’s another example, especially showing off the explosions: link

Now take in mind this isn’t rendered in real time, but rather rendered frame by frame. It still looks immensely cool. The radial blurring (or whatever it actually is) on the sun looks pretty good, as does the particle system. I also notice a lot of subtle camera movements, especially after working on my own XNA camera class. I certainly have a new found respect for the Crytek team.

That, and I wonder how many years it will be before we can actually play it like that in real time. 😛

Leave a Reply

