You don’t know what have until you no longer have it…

So I am taking a class that covers some basic graphics programming using OpenGL (C++). When I first started programming (graphics programming in particular) it was in C++ with DirectX. In the past year or so I’ve really dug into C# and the .Net framework, and using some XNA. (I haven’t really dug too far into XNA, but I’m slowly getting there). Anyway, since I haven’t done any C++ programming in a little while, you might say I’m a little bit out of shape in that respect.

Just this evening I went to go fire up Visual Studio and do a little C++ coding for a particular assignment. Wow, what a difference! It seems like the Intellisense for Visual Studio C++ is years behind what it is for C#. I now see why people would use programs like SlickEdit.

So, the moral of the story: You don’t know what you have until you no longer have it…

2 comments

  1. daveangel

    Yup C++ intellisense is pretty plain.
    I don’t even know if it has code snippets which is pretty handy in C#.
    But what I do know is that you download the visual studio powertools it has some goodies for C++ that help.

  2. Joel

    Yeah, I might want to consider doing that. I can’t say I’m famliar with the Visual Studio Powertools, but I have heard of Visual Assist and SlickEdit.

    Also, how’s this for coincidence – I was just reading one of your posts over on GameDev when all of a sudden I get an email from you… 😛

Leave a Reply

