I can has car?

So, I have been looking to purchase a used car. I found one at a local dealership and took it for a test drive on Tuesday. It was a 1998 Nissan Sentra. Basically, I am looking for something reasonably priced that gets good gas mileage, and won’t cost me an arm and a leg for insurance. After the test drive, I told the guys that I would like to think about it overnight (as well as talk to my ever-knowledgeable parents to see what they thought). I found that the car drove almost identical to my parent’s 1997 Toyota Corolla. I decided that I liked it enough to buy it, and gave the dealership a call this morning to say that I would like it (and to work out a price). I biked to the dealership after my last class of the day. When I got there, a couple had taken it for a test drive. They got back, and bought the car. Fair enough. To buy the car that someone is currently test-driving would be pretty un-cool, so I was fine with that. What I wasn’t too happy about was having biked roughly 40 km (10km each way, two days) for nothing. Ugh…

On a completely different note, if you ever do any amount of mountain biking (or bicycle commuting), invest in a decent pair of toe cages for your petals. It works an entirely different set of muscles in your legs, but I found that they can really help.

EDIT: Apparently the couple that bought the car had a Nissan Sentra, which was in an accident and written off. I guess they bought this one to replace the trashed one. That’s fine with me – by the sounds of it, they needed it more than I do. I am in no hurry to get a car, but it would be nice with winter coming and all. It’s getting a bit cold for riding the bicycle everywhere I need to go. Heck, this morning there was a skiff of ice on a lake that I pass by each day on my way to Univeristy.

Leave a Reply

