Short Update (No. 2)

Another short Update:

Today Allen, my main-man and cohort for 4E6 was doing some texturing on the model that I already posted screenshots of. Since he is more familiar with 3D Studio Max, and I don’t yet know how to do texturing in Maya we exported into a .fbx format, imported in Max and did the texturing there. It does look pretty cool, especially with some nicely faked global illumination. Unfortunately we are having a few minor technical difficulties getting it exported back out of Max with the texturing done, so that will have to wait until next week to get resolved. Needless to say though, it does look pretty awesome.

That, and we are slowly involving a few others. From what Allen says, there is some interest expressed by some of the New Media students in doing some of the final artwork. This would definitely be very cool.

And now for something completely different:

I think it was last week that I saw the most peculiar thing. I was walking to school, and along the way I pass through a park which has a small lake, a slough, and a small stream connecting them. Being this time of year (Fall/Autum) there are some geese and ducks that stop by on their way down South (as they tend to migrate this time of year). Anyway, I also discovered that there is at least one small Muskrat living in the same lake/slough. So the one day I am walking to school, and all of a sudden I hear a mallard duck quacking and flapping about in the water. Wondering what was going on, I looked back and saw a small brown creature swimming around the ducks. The creature was headed straight for the duck, submerged, and the duck started squawking again, after which the creature surfaced. From what I could make of it, it was a muskrat biting the feet of the ducks. Whether the muskrat was just being territorial, or whether he had a hankering for some duck feet, I don’t know. Either way, it looked quite amusing.

Leave a Reply

