XNA Game Components…

I have been doing a little learning tonight about XNA Game Components. I was just blundering around, thinking “Hey, it would be cool to draw a custom cursor on the screen using a texture. After a few minutes of fiddling around, I was able to do so. Having previously read an article on GameComponents, I figured it would probably be a good idea if I wrote it as a DrawableGameComponent, rather than having extra code plugging up my main loops. So, after a quick googling I came across this. It’s always a bit dissapointing to see that someone has already done something that you just thought of doing. It is interesting to see his implementation though.

Anyway, to sum things up: GameComponents seem pretty cool. Hopefully people will churn out more of these things. Maybe it will even get to the point where there are two “YouTube of video games” – one for games themselves, and one for GameComponents. One can only dream for now though. Either that, or quit dreaming and start making a few of my own!

Leave a Reply

